JCHS's Finest News Source

The Caldron

The Caldron

The Caldron

Epic Endgame: What is Next?


 *Implied spoilers*

 After an action filled 3 hour movie, the 22 Infinity Saga of the Marvel Cinematic Universe is finally over. Within the Marvel Cinematic Universe, the chronological order of the movies are “Captain America: The First Avenger,” “Captain Marvel,” “Iron Man,” “Iron Man 2,” “The Incredible Hulk,” “Thor,” “The Avengers”, “Thor: The Dark World,” “Guardians of the Galaxy,” “Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 2,” “Iron Man 3,” “Captain America: The Winter Soldier,” “Avengers: Age of Ultron,” “Ant-Man,” “Captain America: Civil War,” “Black Panther,” “Spider-Man: Homecoming,” “Doctor Strange,” “Thor: Ragnarok,” “Ant-Man and the Wasp,” “Avengers: Infinity War,” and finally, “Avengers: Endgame.” After the highly anticipated movie broke opening weekend box office records, it has currently made at 2.6 billion worldwide. The movie was the end to the character arcs of some heroes, namely some of the original Avengers, but for others it


was a new beginning. The special thing about this film was that there were no post credit scenes, just a special credits with the original six avengers: Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr.), Captain America (Chris Evans), Thor (Chris Hemsworth), Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) The Hulk (Mark Ruffalo), and Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner). This goes to show that it truly is the end of the era.

 However, many videos have been released from mostly comic fans, detailing fan theories. People are seriously in the dark about the Marvel Cinematic Universe’s phase 4. Many are guessing there is going to be a team of Thor with the Guardians of the Galaxy, or Asguardians of the Galaxy.  So far there are 8 untitled Marvel movies slated for release in the next three years. These will most likely be sequels to Black Panther, Doctor Strange, and Captain Marvel, along with a prequel solo Black Widow movie. Marvel Studios head, Kevin Feige, has mentioned that there are plans for the future, but it is likely that the X-Men won’t be involved. For now, many are expecting films based on The Eternals and Shang-Chi, other characters in the Marvel universe.

 It is apparent that this Phase 4 will be less of a continuation from what we’ve seen and more of a reboot. Things will be different, and I’m sure with the likes of Doctor Strange and the Guardians, things will be a lot more cosmic and space centered rather than being on Earth. Marvel is also expanding their audiences by producing TV shows.


“WandaVision,” a live action series with Wanda Maximoff/Scarlet Witch (Elizabeth Olsen), and “The Vision” (Paul Bethany), is supposed to be on Disney+. “The Falcon and The Winter Soldier,” is also supposed to be on the streaming service, starring Anthony Mackie as Falcon and Sebastian Stan as the Winter Soldier. A fan favorite is the newly confirmed show about Loki, with Tom Hiddleston, which will also be released on Disney +. Marvel Studios’ first animated series is to be called “Marvel’s What If…” and is to explore crucial moments from the Marvel Cinematic Universe.  It’s all uncharted territory, and I personally can’t wait. Till more details are released, audiences have “Spider-Man: Far From Home” to look forward to, hitting theaters in July 2.


Donate to The Caldron

Your donation will support the student journalists of James Caldwell High School. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Caldron